CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT
Concealed Pistol License
NEW LAW EFFECTIVE December 1st, 2015
Application packets are available from the County Clerk's Office or by Clicking Here Form#R1-012 (Revised 11/2015)
Must be 21 years of age, U.S. Citizen, must have resided in the state of Michigan for at least 6 months prior to application.
Must meet certain criteria as to criminal history and mental illness and must provide proof of pistol training and safety
programs from a certified firearm instructor. Must have a valid state-issued driver's license or personal identification card.
File application with the County Clerk in the county in which he/she resides.
This includes: a copy of certificate of pistol safety training course, if applicant does not have a digitized photo
on file with the Michigan Secretary of State, include a passport-quality photo; Pay the fee as follows:
New: $100.00 (Optional hard card for an additional $5.00)
New applicant's will need to be fingerprinted by the sheriff's office, state police, local police agency or other agency
that provides fingerprinting services (cost $15.00). Once printed, results are forwarded to MSP for processing.
Renewal applications may not be submitted more than 6 months before, nor one year after, the expiration of the current CPL.
For a renewal of license issued after July 1, 2001, the applicant must sign a statement certifying that he or she has completed
at least 3 hours of review of the required training and have had at least 1 hour firing range time in the last 6 months preceding
application; if applicant does not have a digitized photo on file with the Michigan Secretary of State, include a passport-quality
photo; Pay the fee as follows:
Renewal: $115.00 (Optional hard card license for an additional $5.00)
All applications will need to be signed in the presence of the County Clerk's office.
Show proof of identification (valid driver's license or other personal identification card).
A CPL is valid until the applicant's date of birth that falls not less than 4 years or more than 5 years
after the license is issued or renewed.
Complete rules and information can be found on the Firearms Laws at www.michigan.gov/firearms